LibGuides: ENG 112: Synthesis, Annotated Bibliography, and Academic &amp; Professional Discourse Analysis: Academic & Professional Discourse Analysis

Career Resources

Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
Available in both print and online, the Occupational Outlook Handbook is a great place to go for quick general information about current trends and major issues in a profession. Use the link above and look for the "Search OOH" box in the upper right corner.

Each career entry in the Occupational Outlook Handbook includes sections on the nature of the work, job outlook, projections, and a helpful list of links to additional information resources. These links may include professional organizations. Because many professional organizations conduct their own research, commission their own polls, and maintain some kind of research archives, they can be a terrific place to find information.
Career & Technical Education Database (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, photography, and more.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.

Note: If you are off-campus, you will need to log in to access NCLIVE. Log in with your campus username and password OR enter your CCC Library card number.

America's Career One Stop
This site provides links to career resources, including a library of occupation information.
MyNextMove
A U.S. Department of Labor career search site that allows users to search for careers by keyword, industry, and interest. There is also a special search that veterans may use.
The Occupational Information Network (O*NET)
This resource provides information about various characteristics of occupations, such as tasks performed in the occupation, physical requirements, and other skills needed. Career assessments and other teaching tools also are included.
Career Outlook
The Career Outlook, published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, contains articles on some occupations that are not covered in the Occupational Outlook Handbook

Professional Organizations

Professional organizations are a terrific source of information on the current trends in a given field. Many of these organizations maintain online research libraries and You can find lists of relevant professional organizations in places like the Occupational Outlook Handbook. Alternately, you can Google for organizations. Here are some examples of professional organizations:

Journals

NCLIVE Journal Publications
Use this search for full-text journal titles available through NC LIVE
Google Scholar Metrics
The landing page for Google Metrics shows the top 100 publications across disciplines. To see the top journals in your field, click the “Categories” button. You will see 8 broad categories. Choose the category for your field. You can further narrow down this list through the “Subcategories” button.

Colleges

U.S. Department of Education: College Scorecard
The College Scorecard includes essential information about a particular college’s cost, its graduation rates and the average amount its students borrow.
Big Future by the College Board
Use this site to find colleges by name, location, major, or cost or choose the step-by-step search.