LibGuides: ENG 112: Synthesis, Annotated Bibliography, and Academic &amp; Professional Discourse Analysis: Annotated Bibliography

Finding Sources

A landmark text is one which is considered by experts in a profession to be a fundamental finding or position in the field or of an important aspect of the field.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
ProQuest Central (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
To find books on a particular topic, use the CCC Library Catalog. All of the library's print resources, including books, encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and DVDs, are available in the catalog. Once you’ve found a book in the catalog, you’ll want to find it on the shelf using the Call Number and Location. While most collections circulate, books located in the CCC Reference Collection can only be used in the library.

Search Tips:

Look for patterns in the literature review or introduction sections of scholarly articles. Which texts/writers are most frequently and/or repeatedly cited in your field.
Look for how often an article has been cited in other scholarly literature. This is often noted by "Cited by" underneath an article citation in both Google Scholar and ProQuest Central.
In ProQuest Central, be sure to limit search results to full text and peer-reviewed.
On the results page, take note of the author and journal/book title. Who would be an author of a landmark text and in what journal/book would you find a landmark text?
Look in your textbooks on the subject for frequently cited articles/books.

Professional organizations are terrific places to look for professional statements. Professional organizations seek to further a particular profession, the interests of individuals engaged in that profession, and the public interest. Here are some examples of professional organizations:

Annotated Bibliographies

Annotated Bibliographies
This Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL) link should answer many of your questions about the annotated bibliography format.

Research Articles Print Tutorial	Research Articles Video Tutorial
*The video tutorial refers to the print tutorial

Research Articles

Evaluating Information Sources Video Tutorials
Authority Video	Currency Video

Print Tutorial

Evaluating Information Sources