LibGuides: SOC 210: Current Research Interests in Sociology: Books, eBooks, & Films

Finding Books

To find books on a particular topic, use the Carteret CC Library Catalog. ALl of the library's print resources, including, books, encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and DVDs, are available in the catalog.

Once you've found a book in the catalog, you'lll want to find it on the shelf using the Call Number and Location. While most collections circulate, books located in the Reference Collection can only be used in the library.

CCC Library: Sample Print Books

The Health Gap by Michael Marmot
Call Number: RA418.5 .P6 M385 2015
Dramatic differences in health are not a simple matter of rich and poor; poverty alone doesn't drive ill health--inequality does. Suicide, heart disease, lung disease, obesity, and diabetes are all linked to social disadvantage. In every country, people at relative social disadvantage suffer health disadvantage and shorter lives. Within countries, the higher the social status of individuals, the better their health.
Hillbilly Elegy by J. D. Vance
Call Number: HD8073 .V37 A3 2016
This book is a probing look at the struggles of America's white working class through the author's own story of growing up in a poor Rust Belt town. Hillbilly Elegy is a passionate and personal analysis of a culture in crisis -- that of poor, white Americans. The disintegration of this group, a process that has been slowly occurring now for over forty years, has been reported with growing frequency and alarm, but has never before been written about as searingly from the inside. - Publisher.

Library Catalog Print Tutorial

Library Catalog Video Tutorial

Library Catalog

eBooks

Students new to using eBooks often have questions about what they are, how to search for them, and how to use them. eBooks are generally no different than print books--the vast majority of eBooks have print counterparts. While eBooks are electronic resources, they are not web resources--they are books--so don't be afraid to use them in your research.

CCC students have access to eBooks through a handful of NC LIVE databases.You can search the individual collections by clicking on the database name below or you can search the NCLIVE eBook collection by using the eBooks search box.

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
eBook collection emphasizing history & literature. Here you can find book-length criticism of some major authors.
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhost (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online.
Gale eBooks (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
HomeGrown Ebooks Collection (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 3,200 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.
Hoopla (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
Downloadable audio and ebooks on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more. Compatible with all popular e-readers. An app is available for download. Users will need to make a personal account to use this resource.

Note: If you are off-campus, you will need to log in to access NCLIVE. Log in with your campus username and password OR enter your CCC Library card number.

Sample NCLIVE eBook

Contested Illnesses: Citizens, Science, and Health Social Movements by Editors: Phil Brown; Rachel Morello-Frosch; Stephen Zavestoski; Research Group Contested Illnesses Staff
Publication Date: 2011
The politics and science of health and disease remain contested terrain among scientists, health practitioners, policy makers, industry, communities, and the public. This book crosses disciplinary boundaries by engaging with both public health policy and social science, asserting that science, activism, and policy are not separate issues and showing how the contribution of environmental factors in disease is often overlooked.

Note: If you are off-campus, you will need to log in to access NCLIVE. Log in with your campus username and password OR enter your CCC Library card number.

Videos from Films on Demand

Films on Demand Video Collection (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances.

Sample Films on Demand video:

TEDTalks: Richard Wilkinson - How Economic Inequality Harms Societies
Publication Date: 2011
Richard Wilkinson shows statistical data that proves that social gradients in health exist between the poorest and wealthiest of the population in England and Wales.

Note: If you are off-campus, you will need to log in to access NCLIVE. Log in with your campus username and password OR enter your CCC Library card number.