LibGuides: SOC 220: Social Problems: Research Databases

Topics and Search Strategies

Topics:

The Growth of the Climate Crisis Movement
Environmental Racism
Choose a specific Climate Issue and Outline Problems and Solutions.
Research the Role of Big Pharma and Doctors on the American Drug Crisis
The American Opioid Epidemic
The Drug Crisis in Rural American Communities.
Research Why Justice Reform is needed in the U.S.
Research some of the Recent Protest Movements and Social Justice Activism.

Search Strategies:

Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms or keywords: AND, OR, NOT
Use quotation marks for exact phrases
Use database limiters to refine searches: full-text, peer-reviewed journals, published date, publication type, etc.

Research Databases

SIRS Issues Researcher (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher is comprised of research reports on current topics and includes links to dozens (sometimes hundreds) of related editorials and newspaper and magazine articles. Finding information is easy as choosing a topic from the long list of topics available. Topics include school safety, gun control, gun safety, bullying, cyberbullying, hate crimes, privacy in schools, school shootings, school expression and school discipline, and violence in mass media.

SIRS reports provide an overview of the topic, along with pro/con essays. Also look for the “Timeline”, “Global Impact”, and “Statistics” links, which contain additional information of the topic. Articles found in SIRS include citations already formatted into APA.
CQ Researcher (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
CQ Research is comprised of research reports on current topics. Each report is about 12,000 words long and includes a substantial number of links and references. The "Browse by Topic" link starts you with broad topics, such as "education" or "violence in schools", then gives you a list of sub-topics, which brings you to a list of relevant reports.
ProQuest Central (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
Provides journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistical portal that integrates data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Statistics can be exported as PNG, PDF, Excel, and PowerPoint files.

Note: If you are off-campus, you will need to log in to access NCLIVE. Log in with your campus username and password OR enter your CCC Library card number.

Topics and Search Strategies

Topics:

The Growth of the Climate Crisis Movement
Environmental Racism
Choose a specific Climate Issue and Outline Problems and Solutions.
Research the Role of Big Pharma and Doctors on the American Drug Crisis
The American Opioid Epidemic
The Drug Crisis in Rural American Communities.
Research Why Justice Reform is needed in the U.S.
Research some of the Recent Protest Movements and Social Justice Activism.

Search Strategies:

Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms or keywords: AND, OR, NOT
Use quotation marks for exact phrases
Use database limiters to refine searches: full-text, peer-reviewed journals, published date, publication type, etc.