Culinary Arts

By providing an up-to-date and visually appealing understanding of important issues around global food and agriculture, The Atlas of Food maps out broad areas of investigation--contamination of food and water, overnutrition, micronutrient deficiency, processing, farming, and trade--to offer a concise overview of today's food and farming concerns.

This reference volume was written for discerning home chefs and everybody else who wants to become more knowledgeable about good food and elegant dining. The updated version includes an introduction, quotes, tip boxes, information on basic techniques, tools and expanded glossaries that explain the many variations of apples, sausages, cheeses and so on.

Gives short definitions of terms, many of non-English origin, so that the chef and the amateur enthusiast, the gastronome and the student may quickly determine the meaning.

This 3-volume reference work comprehensively covers the important areas of agriculture and food science, covering important methods, practices and ideas in this growing discipline

First published in 1983, John Mariani's Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink has long been the go-to book on all things culinary. In addition to updates on food trends and other changes to American gastronomy since 1999, for the first time the Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink will include biographical entries, both historical and contemporary, from Fanny Farmer and Julia Child to the Galloping Gourmet and James Beard to current high-profile players.

QA Internationals Food and Cooking series provides a valuable overview through a series of videos and animations of modern nutrition, with contributions from experts in the field.

Gale Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Food Labels explains the often confusing (and sometimes contradictory) language and measurements on food labels and in food marketing, and provides information in a more reader-friendly way than an FDA report can.

ElBulli 2005-2011 is the catalogue raisonné of elBulli, which was widely regarded as the world's best restaurant until its closure in 2011.

This encyclopedia illuminates social concerns, economic trends, policy influences, and ecological terms to provide a comprehensive overview. Contributions from expert authors from government agencies, research universities, and private organizations provide key information on each of these relevant topics.

An overview of the techniques of modern gastronomy. Nathan Myhrvold, Chris Young, and Maxime Bilet have created a six-volume 2,400 page set that reveals science-inspired techniques for preparing food.