LibGuides: Nursing: Reference Resources

Dictionaries

Black's Medical Dictionary, 43nd Edition by Harvey Marcovitch
A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.
Collins Dictionary of Medicine by Robert M. Youngson
Publication Date: revised 2020
Collins Dictionary of Medicine is an invaluable reference work for medical and nursing students, health service professionals, and everyone requiring an authoritative guide to modern medical terminology.

Note: If you are off-campus, you will need to log in to access Credo Reference. Log in with your campus username and password OR enter your CCC Library card number.

Encyclopedias

The Encyclopedia of Elder Care by Elizabeth Capezuti
Publication Date: 2017
This interdisciplinary clinical reference encompasses hundreds of current entries on a broad range of topics related to geriatrics and geriatric care across multiple health care disciplines. It contains the updated, evidence-based contributions of more than 260 nationally recognized geriatric healthcare professionals regarding elder-care concerns relating to society, community, caregiving, and the individual.
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by Joyce Fitzpatrick
Publication Date: 2017
With over 20 new areas of research, and meticulous updates of original entries, the encyclopedia presents key terms and concepts and their application to practice. Pithy entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives, and will be a starting point for future content and references. Nurse researchers, educators, students, and all clinical specialties will find the encyclopedia an important introduction to the breadth of nursing research today.
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
Publication Date: 2018
This fully updated third edition of this award-winning title covers topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. The Encyclopedia covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by Jacqueline L. Longe
Publication Date: 2020
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine is a timely, comprehensive resource for consumers interested in health information.

Note: If you are off-campus, you will need to log in to access Credo Reference. Log in with your campus username and password OR enter your CCC Library card number.

Guides, Handbooks, and Manuals

Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications by Anne M. Van Leeuwen; Mickey L. Bladh
Publication Date: 2021
This manual delivers the information you need to understand how tests work, interpret their results, and provide quality patient care—pre-test, intra-test, and post-test. Tests and procedures are listed in alphabetical order by their complete names for quick reference. The integrated index allows fast searches by abbreviation, synonym, disease/disorder, specimen type, or test classification. A Body Systems Appendix includes a list of common laboratory and diagnostic tests for each body system as well as nutrition-related lab tests.
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, 17th Edition. by April Vallerand, Cynthia Sanoski, and Judith Hopfer
Publication Date: 2023
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses always puts safety first, emphasizing the information nurses need to know to administer medications competently and safely, across the lifespan.
Lippincott Nursing Procedures, 8th Edition by Margaret Eckman (Editor)
Publication Date: 2023
A guide to more than 400 nursing procedures from basic to advanced. This reference outlines every procedure, lists equipment, details each step, and includes rationales and cautions to ensure patient safety and positive outcomes. Concise, clear content targets key information needed to perform procedures safely and accurately at the bedside. Tips, alerts, checklists, illustrations, and tables provide clarity and quick access to key procedural information.
Nurse's Pocket Guide: Diagnoses, Prioritized Interventions, and Rationales, 14th Edition by Marilynn Doenges, Mary Moorhouse, and Alice Murr
Publication Date: 2019
This reference is a tool for you to use to select the appropriate diagnosis to plan your patient’s care effectively. The 13th Edition features the latest nursing diagnoses and updated interventions.

Note: You must be on campus to access STATRef! (contact library for off-campus access).

Omnigraphics Health Reference Sourcebooks

Omnigraphics Health Reference Sourcebooks
Straightforward and authoritative ebooks on consumer health topics. There are 72 permanent ebooks with simultaneous user access in this resource. Examples include: Asthma, Blood and Circulatory Disorders, Osteoporosis, Pregnancy and Birth, and Respiratory Disorders.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
Are you having trouble getting started on your research project? Do you need background information on your topic? Try Credo. Credo Reference is a premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.

Note: If you are off-campus, you will need to log in to access Credo Reference. Log in with your campus username and password OR enter your CCC Library card number.

Credo Tutorial