LibGuides: ENG 114: Professional Research & Reporting: Books

Finding Books

To find books on a particular topic, use the Carteret CC Library Catalog. All of the library's print resources, including books, encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and DVDs, are available in the catalog.

Library Catalog Print Tutorial

Library Catalog Video Tutorial

Library Catalog

eBooks

Students new to using eBooks often have questions about what they are, how to search for them, and how to use them. eBooks are generally no different than print books--the vast majority of eBooks have print counterparts. While eBooks are electronic resources, they are not web resources--they are books--so don't be afraid to use them in your research.

CCC students have access to eBooks through a handful of NC LIVE databases.You can search the individual collections by clicking on the database name below or you can search the NCLIVE eBook collection by using the eBooks search box.

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
eBook collection emphasizing history & literature. Here you can find book-length criticism of some major authors.
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhost (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online.
Gale eBooks (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
HomeGrown Ebooks Collection (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 3,200 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.
Hoopla (NCLIVE) This link opens in a new window
Downloadable audio and ebooks on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more. Compatible with all popular e-readers. An app is available for download. Users will need to make a personal account to use this resource.

Note: If you are off-campus, you will need to log in to access NCLIVE. Log in with your campus username and password OR enter your CCC Library card number.